A decision for the future

So my life sucks?

Screw it! I can sit around and complain about it (and there is a certain satisfaction in doing just that), or I can do something to change it.

So here’s the deal: A few years ago I had planned a gap year, travelling the world. I’d even bought and paid for my tickets, I bought a top-of-the-line backpack and invested in a ton of really clever travel gadgets that various bloggers assured me that I wouldn’t be able to live without. The amount of money I spent would have easily paid all the bills hovering over me right now, so you can imagine how bitter I am that I DIDN’T GO!!! My boss offered me a raise if I stayed, and I was such a chicken that I took it.

Change is scary, and travelling around the world alone was daunting. It still is, but the desire to do just that is still with me.

What to do, what to do…?

WELL, I have decided to become a tour director! You know, one of those guides that follow a tour group around exotic places for a week or two. Those of us that have been on those tours never really pay much attention to the guide, being so caught up in the adventure we’re on, but once I started thinking about it, it seemed so perfect! I mean, I could get PAID to travel!

I have done some research, and found some good schools that offer classes. They all cost quite a bit, and since I have already mentioned my financial situation, I won’t bore you with a repeat, but basically it means that I can’t afford to take any of the classes. Now.

BUT, having a goal to work towards? That’s worth a LOT, considering my state of mind the past couple of months. I actually feel as if I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. It would mean a complete career shift, and in my mid 30’s that’s a bit daunting, but all my accumulated experience can be put to good use. Performance, customer service, coaching, sales, project management, there are aspects in all of it that would be relevant for a tour director.

I am actually excited about something for the first time in forever, and it feels amazing! I know it is still a while off, but I look at my life now, and I imagine how I want my life to be this time next year. From now on, every choice I make will be in aid of that dream. I can’t wait to tell you all about my journey.

Future, here I come!

Leave a Reply

